The Operating Committee

 The governance of the Cluster Chemistry of Complex Systems relies on an Operating Committee of 6 persons. It is constituted of the representatives of the main research institutes involved in the project:

  • Jean-Marie Lehn, project initiator, Institute of Science and Supramolecular Engineering
  • Mir Wais Hosseini, coordinator, Institut Le Bel
  • Jean-François Lutz, Institut Charles Sadron
  • Paolo Samori, Institute of Science and Supramolecular Engineering
  • Vincent Robert, Institute of Chemistry
  • Alberto Bianco, Institute of Molecular and Cell Biology

This committee is assigned with deciding the strategic objectives of the Cluster. It is a reactive and efficient structure to take decisions. Indeed, this committee has to ensure that the Cluster doesn’t become a rigid structure but a dynamic scientific network able to adapt to scientific changes.

The administrative and financial management of the project is provided by the Foundation for the Research in Chemistry (FRC) which permanently stays in close relationship with the Operating Committee.

The Scientific Advisory Board

For strategic science decisions, the Scientific Advisory Board brings together highly respected scientists from outside the Strasbourg community. The board is in charge of evaluating the research projects submitted to the Cluster. This process allows carrying out objective and transparent evaluations to get a fair distribution of the funds.